Day Two: Still Getting the Hang of It

Got up and went to the gym first thing again this morning.  Had a litre of water to start the day.  Worked out and did a bit of rowing, arm machines (mostly for shoulders and back) and then got on an eliptical trainer that’s kinda like a stair-stepper, too.  When I did the 30 days of raw chocolate, I lost so much weight so quickly that I’m getting a flat butt, and I wanna pick it up.  So I put the machine on steepness level 17 (of 20) and resistance level 14 (of 20).  Did that for 15 minutes an my butt and calves are feelin’ it, especially my bum.  But I’m very glad for that.  Nice to know I got in a good workout.

Came home and made wheatgrass juice, then made a green juice that consisted of zucchini, cilantro, papapya, apple and lemon.  Don’t try this at home!  Yeesh!  It was not exactly what I would call delicious.  Cilantro is great in salsa and I love the flavor of it a LOT, but it’s not good juiced, in my opinion.  Not with fruit anyway.  If I was to make a savory juice, that might work, but I’m not real inclined to do that.  The further along I got in the glass, the more tolerable it was, but I definitely won’t be making it again.  Oh!  I remembered to have my salt with the juice today.

Once the juice for the morning (which was really late afternoon) was done, I had my digestive enzymes, then did some skin brushing.  Followed that up with a rinse in the shower and a good slathering of coconut oil all over.  It’s truly fascinating how clean I feel after I do that.  Sort of like that fresh feeling after you brush your teeth.  Then I took a 2-hour nap.

I tell you, I am REALLY feeling the need for naps on this fast!  I know that many would give up and say, “This makes me feel too weak.”  But I’m not falling for it.  I feel that what I’ve found in my investigations of fasts is true:  that once the body finally gets the fuel and tools it needs to cleanse and repair (ie. greens and zeolite), it takes a lot of energy to do so, so the body needs more sleep.  On just raw, I don’t feel this way.  Especially with energizing chocolate.  But alas, I cannot put off house-cleaning forever.  Whenever I take on a big physical project, I’m always tired;  well, this is a big physical project, too — I just can’t see what’s happening because it’s all internal.

This afternoon’s drink was 3 leaves of kale, a handful of parsely, a small cucumber, a pear, and about a cup of nectarine juice (the last of last summer’s nectrines were still in the freezer, all in a lump, so I took them out to thaw them to make something for the boys — probably green smoothies).  Quite a good juice combo!  Very fresh and summery, and I could really taste the cucumber and nectarine.  Still a bit bitter and weird from the kale and parsely, but nothing like this morning’s cilantro-lemon semi-disaster!!  I’ll put this on the list of good juices to repeat.

My Cucumber-Parsley-Kale-Pear juice (amongst the cuke babies)

My Cucumber-Parsley-Kale-Pear juice (amongst the cuke babies)

I’m noticing that I’m very sluggish if I have more than 5 or 6 drops of zeolite at a time, and my body seems to go between the chills and a feverish feeling.  I guess it will take a bit of time to ramp up on the fast, and that it’s true what I’ve read about with detox — once you suppress a feeling from something emotional or a symptom from an illness, when you detox, your body has to “finish” it, by going through a feeling of partial emotional upheaval or a partially ill feeling.  With all the fevers I suppressed with over-the-counter medication back in my early 30’s when I had walking pneumonia quarterly for 3 or 4 years, I am not at all surprised that all this sluggishness and feverish feeling should be coming up.  I almost feel like I’m catching up on all the sleep I lost being sick all those years.

Still feeling QUITE full all day, which is excellent!  Hope to keep feeling this way.  The green juices are not strained, so if/when there is foam on them, I always just put the whole thing into my Vita-Mix and just blend the bejiggers out of it.  That makes it very creamy, and not at all lumpy, which is nice.  Green juice is enough of a mental challenge to get through without having to consume lumps!!

I am really starting to have an appreciation of and for my body that I’ve never had before.  It’s strange, but I find myself being so glad for all the amazing processes that my body can go through and the things it can accomplish.  I feel like, “WOW!  My body can do THAT?!?  That’s just AMAZING!”  I think I’ve become so caught up in what I do with my life that I forgot to be involved with what I can do with me.  Does that make sense, or do I just sound like a raving hippie?  Probably bit of both.  😉

We all went on another walk tonight for over a mile and stopped to pet the Clydesdales at the Clydesdale farm/ranch that is just down the road from our house.

The last juice of the day was grapefruit with 10 drops of zeolite in it, after having extremely intense cravings for ranch flavored corn chips with spicy cheese-like sauce on them.  About had a freakin’ breakdown I craved them so bad!!!  Michael was a good support for me, reminding me of the story he heard of a woman who was a bit overweight and had a terrible diet;  she got a colonic when she decided to get healthier and saw a full slice of undigested pepperoni go out the tube.  Now this is shocking, but then he told me that she could not remember having had pepperoni pizza in over a year!  Tell ME that stuff doesn’t get backed up in your system!  I don’t think so.

So it was a pretty easy day for most of the day, until I had to go fill up our glass water jugs, and had cravings for the chips and “cheese”.  But I got through it, and I’m proud to say that I stayed raw and on my fast.

Ah yes, one last thing.  Don’t put diatomaceous earth in a green juice.  DISGUSTING! Won’t try that again tomorrow.

Leave a comment